Korean Lesson 002


Alright, here’s lesson number 2. Today, we’ll go through some more words, their usage, sounds and tenses and also the lyrics of some of the songs I uploaded last time and make a connection between words and putting them in sentences. Remember the words and start memorizing the sentences and the way the words are used. All the best! 🙂 Or as the Koreans would say, Yolshimhae (Do your best!) 😉

 

Words:

Hal(kae):  To do (It shows the person’s intention to do or shows he has done. Example: )

Opso: Nothing (Something is absent, you refer to it as opso when you mean it is not there. Example: Da Khalte ga opso [I have nowhere to go: Dissect the sentence and see the grammarDa: Me Khalte ga:Place to go Opso: Absent/Nothing/Is not] or Khrungo Opso [It is not like that: Dissect the sentence and see the grammarKhrungo: Like that Opso: Absent/Nothing/Is not])

Chincha: Really/Truly

Chongmal: Really/Truly (The difference between the two is when used in sentences, they can be used together or separately. I can’t really put it into words, but when I hear it, or say it, I know which one to use. So for now, just remember the word and start seeing its usage in sentences and with time, you’ll involuntarily make the connection yourself too)

Kha: To go (Used in both coming and going sense, i.e. when you are telling someone you are going somewhere or when you tell someone you are coming. Examples: Chegum Paru Khalkae: I’ll head over there immediately [Chegum-Now/Immediately, Paru Khalkae: I’ll headover/go there], Khayo: Let’s go, Khandagu: I am going, Khalke: I’ll get going)

Andwe: Cannot do

Bothae: Cannot do

Anae: Will not do

Maam (Baam-Maum/Baum) : Feelings/Heart/Intentions (All meanings depend on the sentence)

Kasum :Heart/Chest(All meanings depend on the sentence)

Paboo: Fool

Chama: To bear

Pa: To see

Chal: To do something well

Uro: Cry

Uso: Smile

Khidar: Wait

Kidahae: Expect

Sashil: Truth/Honest

Shinshil/Chinshil: Truth/Honest

Buro: Ask

Hokshi: The Korean word that is equivalent to the English words “Can it be?”

Mal: Words/Horse (Another dual meaning word)

Cha: Car/Sleep/Tea

Oonda: Coming

Hajima: To stop someone/Do not Do

Khajima: Do not Go (From Kha-go and Hajima-Do not)

Mara: To stop someone

Yegi: Talk (Words)

Khogi: There

Eego: This

Sagwa: Apple/Apology

Yoja: Woman

Namja: Man

Gathin(Gatheun): Korean equivalent of English Words “Like this”

 

Song Lyrics:

Here we’ll go through one of the songs I put up yesterday. Here, we’ll relate each word to its meaning. The first song is Gohaeyo by 4Men and here’s a look at its lyrics and their translation. [Note: There are some words that I do not know either so I will not go into them]

 

Dangsinkke gohaeyo  To you, i will confess  (Words: Dangshin-You, Gohaeyo [I do not know the word but I suspect it is derived from Kobaek-Confession])

 

Chegum Hanan Yegi Chal DeuroJwoyo Now, listen to me carefully (Words: Chegum-Now Hanan-Derived from Hal, signifying to do, what is being done; Yegi-Words, Chal-Well [Good], DeuroJwoyo-The verb is Deuro which means listen)

 

Seoroga seororeul saranghan gieogeun  [Sarang is Love and Gieogeun is Memory, Rest I don’t know]

 

Tha opdeonillo haeyo Lets just pretend that everything doesn’t exist (Tha-All, Opdeonillo- not to be, Haeyo- To do)

 

Deutgi himdeureodo deureojuseyo Even this is hard for you to listen, just listen (Deutgi/Deuro-Listen, Himdeuro- Difficult, Do-Too, Juseyo-Additive with verb signifying please do so. The words Yo in Korean are used as formality and to signify a ‘please do so’ attitude)

 

Dasineun uridul eotteon uyeonirado mannajiji ankil  Even if it is a coincidence, let’s not meet again (Dashineun-Again, Uridul-We, Eotteon-Whatever, Uyeoni-Coincidence, Rado-this is added to say-if that is what you say it; in this case it means even if it is through a coincidence, Mannaji-Meet, Ankhil-Not)

 

Meonhutnal uri meonhutnal uri, dasi mannaji ankireul  In the future, in the future, Let’s never meet again (Meonhutnal-A day in the future, Uri-Us, Dasi-Again, Mannaji-Meet, Ankireul-Do not)

 

Eonjengan uri eonjengan uri, eotteon uyeoniljirado, dasi mannajiankireul One day, Through whatever coincidence, Let’s never meet again (Eonjengan-One day/Someday/Whenever, Eotteon-Whatever, Uyeonil-Coincidence, Dasi-Again, Mannaji-Meet, Ankhirul-Not) [Here, the sentence literally translates as Whenever us, whatever coincidence, again meet never, which doesn’t make sense otherwise but in Korean grammar and sentence making, it does make sense and once you have a significant knowledge of the language, you will realize how to put the pieces together and how they connect even if there aren’t all the words that would complete the sentence in English.]

 

Baralkkeyo I wish (Paral-Wish, Kkeyo is derived from the very Halkkaeyo [Halkkaeyo is to show an action being taken so here paralkkeyo shows a wish is being made])

 

Heullyeodeutji malgo oewoduseyo [Don’t know]

 

Eoneunal gapjagi nae saenggage ppajyeodo One day, suddenly it will out of my mind (Eoneunnal-Someday [Nal-Day], Gapjagi/Kapjagi-Suddenly, Nae-My, Saengag/k-Thought/Mind, Ppajye-Remove)

 

Seulpeoulji ankil I dont want to cry so sadly (I am not exactly sure this is the translation for it, but I base it on this: Seulpeo-Sad, Ulji-Cry, Ankhil-Do not)

 

Neohanaro salsuisseotdeon I only lived for you (Neo-You, Hanaro-Only, Salsu-Live, derived from Sara, Isseotdeon-Derived from isso which means to exist, to be; hence the whole sentence is I lived only for you)

 

Gieokdeuri gamdangmotalmankeum [Again Gieok-Memory]

 

Gaseume jantteungnamado All still remains in my heart (Don’t know the whole for sure, but Gaseum-Heart, Namado-To Remain)

 

Nareul itgo sarayo Forget me, and live (Nareul-Me, Itgo-Forget, Derived from Itjeosso which means forget, Sara-Means Live, Sarayo means Live so)

 

Mianhaeyo I am sorry (From Mianhae-Sorry)

About hitomiakiko

Architect and Aspiring Writer

Posted on March 18, 2012, in Potpourri, Uncategorized, Written Excerpts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. Great site, maybe you could try to sound out? Eg:kamsahamnida (Gam sa ham mi da)

  2. thanks for the good schkoooop…I need to learn, and this helps. R/Ernie

  3. Seoroga seororeul saranghan gieogeun Tha opseddeonillo haeyo
    서로가 서로를 사랑한 기억은서로가 서로를 사랑한 기억은 다 없던일로 해요
    let’s pretend the memory where we loved each other doen’t exist

    i think that’s what it means xD

  4. can you continue with lesson 003? like, how to join korean alphabet and make it in words or phrases. 🙂

    • Lesson 3 will be up soon! Ill be posting more words and lyrics and some insight into sentence making… Thereon, we’ll move completely into sentence making and learn new words as we go on through them! 🙂

  5. The 5th sound is the neutral tone. That will not be too difficult to learn once you can make out the difference between the 4 main tones.

    Yes, that sounds like a good idea. Just give me a shout when you would like the characters. Once my main exams are over at the end of May, things will be less stressful for me. Will still have odd classes and my project to do over summer, but will be a more relaxed schedule (so I am told 🙂 ). Happy to do voice chat then if you can wait till then (and if you do need it). More than happy to help out since you have been so generous with the galore of drama recaps, answering our drama queries, Korean lessons etc. 🙂

    • Im happy youre enjoying the blog and the recaps!! I still jump up and down everytime theres a comment! Feedback makes it worth all the hardwork and effort!! ^^ Ill let you know once I start the BBC Series lessons and for help, Ill make sure to bother you after May! 😉 Enjoy the recaps and all the bes to you!! ^^

  6. Thanks! I have been slowly learning a few words from your Korean lessons when I can and I get excited when I recognise a couple of words being used in a drama that were on your list. Lol! The words that sound like Mandarin or Chinese dialects are the easiest for me to remember. Not got to the stage of trying to understand your dissection of the the lyrics as yet, which will be the difficult part for me (to try and learn how a sentence is constructed and the grammar etc.)! Maybe I will have a bit more time in summer to concentrate on learning Korean!

    • Hehe, glad to be of help!! ^^ I’m gonna start on the new lesson tomorrow, after I get the next recap for KPop out… I’m thinking of putting out more words and some sentences out in it… Best of luck with learning!! ^^

      P.S. Help me with Mandarin!! 😛

      • Oh sorry, I forgot that you wanted to learn Mandarin! This is how absent-minded I get these days…

        Have you tried the BBC website for Mandarin? It teaches Mandarin using phonetics (called Hanyu Pinyin) rather than with the Chinese characters. It teaches you the pronunciation and provides the text translation in English. If you want to learn the writing as well, I am happy to supply the Chinese characters for some of the lessons from the BBC website. Let me know… I can post them somewhere on your site that is not too obtrusive or to your twitter account (whatever you prefer)! 🙂

        http://www.bbc.co.uk/languages/chinese/real_chinese/start/

        Most of my British colleagues said that the most difficult part for them (when I tried to teach them Mandarin) is to try and distinguish between the 4 different tones. For example, ‘ma’ could mean ‘mother’, numb’, ‘horse’ or ‘scold’, but these four words have different tones and by the tones employed by the speaker, you can tell which ‘ma’ they are referring to (and also from the sentence construction of course). I think the best way to tell them apart is to keep listening and practising.

        mā 妈 (mother)
        má 麻 (numb or sesame)
        mǎ 马 (horse)
        mà 骂 (scold)

      • Alright, first Ill check out the BBC lessons and start there with pronounciation… I also read somewhere that just the a in Mandarin has 5 different pronounciations!! :O Once I get a few words and their pronounciations and meanings, Ill ask you for their characters… I think that’ll be an effective way of learning… What do you say?

        If I cant get the pronounciations or Im doing them wrong, it would be great if you could guide me there but that’ll require voice chat. Would you be able to give me time for that, although I think that might not be necessary…

  7. Thanks for the lesson. Really interesting! ^^ I’ve heard lots of these words but just don’t know what it means. The only words I know for sure is no, yes, why, what and references to he/she– unni/hyung/ahjussi. LOL

    Thanks for the link Hillary. 🙂

  8. @hitomiakiko: Also, Blue of Electric Ground had an article about honorifics in Korean language that you may be interested in. I posted link below.

    http://belectricground.com/2011/05/06/korean-language-and-culture-series-honorifics/

  9. Hope you don’t mind but I posted link to the lessons on Dramabeans OT thread, so you may get traffic on the Korean lessons. And see that you have busied yourself with recapping not one but two dramas.

    • Lol, no I don’t mind! There’s already traffic coming in from DB thanks to you!! You can post the link and it’ll help me get more traffic so it’s a win win situation for me!! Thanks! ^^

      Haha, it’s actually three because I’m trying to cover Fashion king, Strongest K Pop Survival and Equator Man. 😀 The last drama is a little too dark though! <_<

      Are you following the other lineup of dramas-Rooftop Prince and King 2 Hearts? I am absolutely loving both!! ^^

  10. Wow, I’m shocked at how many of these words I’ve heard and recognized in dramas without even really realizing it! I must be picking up a teeny-tiny bit of Korean without even paying much attention. WOOT! I’m suddenly all excited. *grin* Thank you!

    • Hehe, this’ll be how you start picking up and sooner or later, you’ll expand your knowledge even more… However, its watching dramas like King 2 Hearts that makes me realize how lacking or beginner level my Korean is! I guess I need to start picking up more myself now!

Leave a Reply

