THE ASIAN ADDICTION


 The AA is a disease that has plagued me for more than six years now. It started the same way any other illness would; a small infection grew steadily over time, expanding its roots where it has now finally risen to the point where it requires daily doses of its own special medicine, otherwise my whole existence seems to slump down in to the depths of darkness and despair, verging on the point of insanity. People around me avoid me and call me nerdy due to this very reason and this illness has also caused me to become unable to be comfortable with people easily and I am thus, unable to easily make friends or even start up a conversation without giving my illness away. I’ve been left crippled in many cases so I hardly know anything more than what is in regards or relationship with AA. And today, it has reached such a point that even if I wish to be cured, the addiction has left me incurable and there is no way I can free myself from the clutches of it. This disease, unnamed until it affected me, has earned the name AA from me, which is the short of Asian Addiction. What plagues me is nothing but the obsession and addiction of Asian Media.

Part I of the Addiction; Comics:

 

Ruroni Kenshin- An awesome tale of Samurai life in Japan when the new era was beginning to settle in

I was first introduced to the world of Asian Media when my friend introduced me to it when we were in 10th grade. At that time, we were new to the world, so the simplest of things, short comic stories; known as Manga, Manhwa or Manhua depending on the region it belongs to, was all we pursued. And being youngsters in 10th grade, our minds were like those of newborn babies when we first encountered this world and hence, we read even the simplest of stories with great enthusiasm and anticipation. This exposure allowed me to develop both the sense of a story in my mind, and an understanding of the different cultures that existed out there in the world, and after fifteen years of living in a small contained world, I opened my eyes to the world that existed outside my own.

At first, all mangas and manhwas seemed like the product of a genius, and without realizing it, I consumed more and more without even realizing my dosage was harming me, in every sense. I developed an addiction for it, and after some time, normal and typical stories no longer appealed to me. I needed more, and I needed better. In these times the shift where I graduated from the mangas intended for sixteen year olds, and stumbled across Alichino. To this day, it is one of the best mangas I have read, in terms of drawing and story, and its one of my greatest regrets, like all other fan girls out there, that the series was never finished. It truly was the work of an artist and a story teller, and the story itself was creative beyond words. Sadly, it still stands where it did five years ago. With the passage of time, I stumbled across many more brighter and complete works, and so, in league with typical romance shoujo, I started exploring fantasy, fiction, adventure, comedy, tragedy and any other genre I found interesting so that by the time I matured from this choice of entertainment, I had already read more than hundreds of comics, with some of them leaving an impression on me for forever, thanks to their wonderful art, strong storylines and deep characters.

Some of the mangas/manhwas I fell in love with are listed below:

Goong

Vampire Knight

Alichino

(So far, one of the best art styles I’ve seen in mangas…  A pity the writer gave up on the series…)

Fuushigi Yuugi Genbu Kaiden (Not Fuushigi Yuugi!!)

Ban Hon Sa

Mind you, there’s a whole world out there that will astonish and amaze you if you move to explore it and these are merely a few of the series that I have completely fallen in love with! If your interested in following mangas and want some good titles, keep posted on the blog and you’ll see some of the awesome-st title recommendations and spots where you can get your fill of mangas! I may even upload some of my favorite titles for download! ;]

Also, keep checking back for the upcoming Part II of the Asian Addiction – Dramas! ^_~

About hitomiakiko

Architect and Aspiring Writer

Posted on August 17, 2011, in Asian Cinema, Asian Comics, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

